Got some thoughts about the site? We'd love your feedback.

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

A Man Called Ove
    based on 2 reviews
  • Users:
    • Favourite:3
    • Currently Reading:1
    • Want to Read:0
    • Recently Read:4
  • Clubs:
    • Currently Reading:0
    • Want to Read:0
    • Recently Read:1

Synopsis

  • The million-copy bestselling phenomenon, Fredrik Backman's heartwarming debut is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project and David Nicholl's US.

    New York Times bestseller

    'Warm, funny, and almost unbearably moving' Daily Mail

    'Rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it' Spectator Books of the Year

    At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots - neighbours who can't reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d'etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents' Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets.

    But isn't it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so?

    In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible...

  • Want to read this book? Click here to buy this book at Amazon

Reviews

  • A Review of A Man Called OvebyLynneB
  • A Review of A Man Called OvebyBookTasting
    • A Man Called Ove
    • BookTasting reviewed this book on 11/04/2016
    • "Ove is a deceptively complex character. At first, he seems almost caricature-like in his crankiness. He wants things in order...if there is a sign that has rules on it, one should pay attention to it and follow it to the letter. He is set in his old ways and when those ways are changed by anything new, he gets upset...very upset. But as his history is skillfully revealed, layer by layer, it..."


Favourite Book

  • Toraprincess
  • LynneB
  • BookTasting

Currently Reading

  • LynneB

Recently Read

  • Toraprincess
  • LynneB
  • BookTasting
  • mitchums598

Users Who Reviewed

  • LynneB
  • BookTasting

Share this Book